Uys, Nguvauva win big at Meatco awards

17 March 2017
Author   Michael Uugwanga
Part-time commercial farmer, Dirk Matthysen Uys, was crowned Producer of the Year for 2016, while Esegiel Ngauvauva was named Communal Producer of the Year, at the Hollard/ Meatco Annual Producer Awards, held last Friday in Windhoek.
Meatco board Chairperson, Martha Namundjebo-Tilahun was the keynote speaker, in the absence of Meatco Chief Executive Officer, Vekuii Rukoro, who had other commitments.
Namundjebo-Tilahun applauded the farmers for their generous contribution to the country’s food security, despite the poor rainfall that has been experienced in the past five years.
She gave the farmers some welcome relief, by saying that Meatco had approved a budget for a producer bonus of 75c per kilogram.
“It is really an achievement to be a finalist or a winner in your various respective categories. Times are tough, but you have overcome some of our present difficulties, such as the water crisis, climate change, policy changes, and in particular, the devastating drought over the past few years,” Namundjebo-Tilahun said.
“It is very comforting to witness first-hand the enormous energy you invest in your different farming methods, the interest it raises from various Meatco markets, and the overall benefits your produce can offer globally.”
An excited Nguvauva urged his fellow producers to emulate him in years to come.
“I am speechless, but your leadership (at Meatco) creates a healthy environment for producers to be recognised. This will encourage meat producers to reach for greater heights,” said Nguvauva.
Uys thanked Meatco for its continuous support towards the farming community.
“I never had it in my mind to win, but I want to thank Meatco for a job well done,” said Uys.
The full list of winners:
Big 5 – Cattle Live Sales: Cuffs Cattle Enterprise, Spek Agra Lewende Hawe Bemark, Windhoek Livestock auctioneers, Bruwer Swanepoel, Hochfeld Livestock CC.
Big 5 – Cattle Slaughtered: Kavango Cattle Ranch, Feigenfeld Farming CC, Ockert Steyn, Konrad Traeger, Okakeua Ranch CC.
Producer of the Month: (Jan to Dec 2016) – Cordova Farming CC, Siebert Jacobus Briedenhann, Johannes Hendrik Botha, Hellmut Kriess, Kamab Guest Farm & Simbra Stud, Rusch H G & Partners, Eberhard Fischer, Dawid Hansen, Wim Lubbe, Pommersche Farmgessellschaft, Siebert Jacobus Briedenhann, Horst Kronsbein.
Top Regional Producer (Live Sales Commercial): Kunene – PS Gouws t/a Etobra Brahmane, Erongo – Omaruru Slagtery, Otjozondjupa – Domhuegel Farming (Pvt) Ltd, Khomas – Stefan Vogts, Omaheke – Christofel Labuschagne, Hardap – Bayer H & A K + CTH, Karas – Wilfired Emi.
Top Five Producers (Live Sales Communal): Uaavi Kandirikirira, K R Gontes, E Muaine, Kuepahere Maherero, Lemcy Kuhanga.
Top Five Producers (Live Sales Commerical): Omaruru Slagtery, Stefan Vogts, Christofel Labuschagne, Domhuegel Farming (Pty) Ltd, Cuffs Cattle Enterprise.
Top Regional Producer (Slaughter Communal): Kunene – Jekura Uarika Kavari, Otjozondjupa – Esegiel Nguvauva, Omaheke – JZU Kaurivi, Hardap – WJ Kohlmann, Karas – Edward Stein.
Top Regional Producer (Slaughter Commercial): Kunene – Reiner Stommel, Oshikoto – Henning & Henning Akkerbou, Erongo – Henner Wilckens, Otjozondjupa – Pommersche Farmgesellschaft, Khomas – Kamab Guest Farm & Simbra Stud, Omaheke - Dirk Matthysen Uys, Hardap - Adolf de Koe, Karas - Kuduberg Farming (Fourie DG).
Top Five Producers (Slaughter Communal): Esegiel Nguvauva, JZU Kaurivi, E Kandji, Sakaria Gaeb, Hezekia Verikomba Mbahuurua.
Top Five Producers (Slaughter Commercial): Dirk Matthysen Uys, Pommersche Farmgesellschaft, Wilhelm Gerd Diekmann, Horst Kronsbein, Kamab Guest Farm & Simbra Stud.
Golden Producers 2017: Wilheim Gerd Diekmann, Pommersche Farmgesellschaft, Okakeua Ranch CC, Benjamin Van Wyk, Konrad Traeger, Horst Kronsbein, Alt Seeis Farming, Johannes Hendrik Botha, Horsti Koepp, Hellmut Fischer.

 tortise consultancy


The Windhoek Observer is an English-language weekly newspaper, published in Namibia by Paragon Investment Holding. It is the country's oldest and largest circulating weekly.

Contact Us

Windhoek Observer House
c/o John Meinert & Rossini Street
Windhoek West
Tel: +264 61 411 800
Fax: +264 61 226 098