Swapo and Geingob march to victory, so far …as Itula scoops Khomas and Erongo

29 November 2019 Author  
The 2019 Presidential and National Assembly elections took place on Wednesday, 27th November. While the final figures and tallies are not yet available, preliminary results have once again indicated that Geingob and the Swapo Party continue to enjoy strong support in all 14 regions.
Except for the Khomas and Erongo regions, where independent candidate Panduleni Itula appears to have performed stronger than Geingob, the incumbent enjoyed a near clean sweep in Zambezi, Kavango West and East, and Ohangwena. The president had healthy margins in Omusati, Oshikoto and Oshana regions. 
Bernadus Swartbooi of the Landless People’s Movement (LPM) and the new kid on the block, as expected, performed strongly in the Karas region and won some popular votes in the Hardap, Omaheke and Erongo regions.
The Popular Democratic Movement (PDM), the official opposition party so far, has not challenged Swapo’s dominance but continues to garner pockets of votes in various regions.
National Unity Democratic Organisation (NUDO) appears to be the biggest casualty in these elections as they have fared poorly in their strongholds in Okakarara and Aminuis. The party is likely to win one seat in Parliament.
Although the counting is progressing slowly, Geingob is expected to win with more than 50 percent; there will be no re-run. The chances of Swapo losing its 2/3rds majority in Parliament are becoming slimmer.
Namibians from all over the country have apparently flocked to the polls across the country to make their voices heard. As normal in Namibia, the elections were peaceful and without loss of life or reports of political violence. Long queues and EVM technical difficulties did not destroy the eagerness of most voters, with this year’s elections appearing to show a significant voter turnout.
Registered voters for the 2014 polls were 1,24 million and have increased to 1,35 million for the 2019 ballot. According to statistics on elections.my.na, Generation Y, voters ages18-37 years, represent the majority of those registered with an astonishing figure of 700,648 which is an increase over the 564,706 in that age range in 2014.
Despite the increase in newly registered voters, reports across social media showed that some people did not cast their ballots due to the closure of certain polling stations and dissatisfaction over extremely long queues. 
In an interview with nbc, Swapo party Youth League Secretary Ephraim Nekongo, as expected, spoke with confidence while commenting on this year’s elections results.
“We [Swapo] are confident of the result. So far, Swapo has been leading. Apart from that, as a party, we have people telling us the results at the different constituencies. So we know we will win. Once we win, you will see us in the streets waving our flags!”, he added.
Nekongo also shared that SWAPO has learned a lot from this year’s elections.
“As a party, we have learned a lot. We have learned we must put our people first.”
SWAPO’s national assembly first 50 are: Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah, Sophia Shaningwa, Pohamba Shifeta, Lucia Iipumbu, Tom Alweendo, Saara Kuugongelwa-Amadhila, Frans Kapofi, Johanna Kandjimi, Peya Mushelenga, Alexia Manombe-Ncube, Calle Schlettwein, Lucia Witbooi, Nangolo Mbumba, Christine Hoebes, Erastus Uutoni, Itah Kandjii-Murangi, Hambyuka Hamunyera, Hilma Nicanor, Stanley Simataa, Bernadette Jagger, John Mutorwa, Annakleta Sikerete, Peter Katjavivi, Margaret Mensah-Williams, Royal /Ui/o/o, Silvia Makgone, Kletus Karondo, Sibungo Heather, Tobie Aupindi, Fennie nanyeni, Jerry Ekandjo, Bertha Dinyando-Nyambe, Bernhardt Esau, Verna Sinimbo, Hafeni Ndemula, Veno Kauaria, Natangwe Ithete, Anna Nghipondoka, Mareka Vincent, Nono Katjingisiua, Daniel Kashikola, Agnes Tjongarero, Leon Jooste, Juliet Kavetuna, Mandela Kapere, Maria Elago, Modestud Amutse, Loide Kasingo, Penda ya Ndakolo and Paula Kooper.
In a phone interview with the Windhoek Observer, LPM second in command, Henny Seibeb, was satisfied with his party’s performance.
“We are performing well so far and we are humbled by the people’s support. We are happy for the trust people have put in us and we can assure the people, we will not disappoint them.”
Seibeb added that they were thrilled at the chance of gaining seats in parliament.
“We are doing well. I am sure we will get up to eight seats in parliament.”
Other parties could not be reached for comment by the time of going to print.
Note: These figures are indicative and preliminary and are subject to change when the final, official counts are given by the ECN. The figures noted in the article are from only 24 out of 121 constituencies, barely 20 percent of the votes have been officially counted and tallied. These numbers change by the hour. 


The Windhoek Observer is an English-language weekly newspaper, published in Namibia by Paragon Investment Holding. It is the country's oldest and largest circulating weekly.

Contact Us

Windhoek Observer House
c/o John Meinert & Rossini Street
Windhoek West
Tel: +264 61 411 800
Fax: +264 61 226 098