BBA7 curtain comes down

10 August 2012

AFRICAMAGIC’S Big Brother StarGame came to an end last Sunday night (5 August) with the crowning of South African Keagan Peterson, the winner of the 91-day drama-filled show that propelled him to superstardom and the massive US$300,000 prize.
The Cape Town lad hit the jackpot after a journey started in Downville with partner Lee who Biggie evicted the night Africa upgraded Keagan to Upville.
This means South Africa has won Big Brother for the first time after a long wait.

The South African beat off stiff competition from 34 other housemates including strong contenders from Upville.
Prezzo was the runner up and received a ONE Campaign ambassador slot.
Keagan, Kyle, Lady May, Prezzo, Talia and Wati were the last six standing during the final week – but the man from Cape Town won Africa’s hearts and votes. Wati was the first housemate to be evicted on Sunday, followed by Kyle, Talia, Lady May and finally, Prezzo.
Keagan and Prezzo entered the game on two different sides – Downville and Upville, respectively – on 6 May and kept Africa entertained for 91 days with clashes and near misses.
The Big Brother StarGame finale was a celeb-studded affair, kicking off with a special edition of STARGIST on DStv Channel 197, hosted by Vimbai Mutinhiri and Lawrence Maleka.
The duo interviewed former Big Brother StarGame housemates, fans and business executives such as M-Net Africa Managing Director Biola Alabi and Olufemi Ashipa, Brand Manager Colas: Coca Cola Nigeria.
Stars of Big Brother seasons past were keen onlookers in the live studio audience, alongside VIPs like Zinzi Mandela. African music superstars also took to the Big Brother stage to take the finale to the next level.
Nigerian hip-hop star D’Banj, Ugandan hip-hop powerhouse Navio, sizzling South African MC Khuli Chana, award-winning Ghanaian hip-life king Sarkodie and Nigeria’s phenomenal Afro-pop star Naeto C all rocked the stage, giving viewers a night they’ll never forget!
Big Brother StarGame dominated TV screens – but also rocked the online space! The show generated over 2 million messages to TV, over 2 million unique online browsers, 128 million page views, over 250,000 Twitter followers and nearly 900,000 Facebook likes!
Here is how Africa voted: Angola: Keagan, Botswana: Keagan, Ghana: Keagan, Kenya: Prezzo, Liberia: Keagan, Malawi: Wati, Namibia: Lady May, Nigeria: Keagan, South Africa: Keagan, Sierra Leone: Talia, Tanzania: Prezzo, Uganda: Kyle, Zambia: Talia, Zimbabwe: Lady May and Rest of Africa: Keagan.
Total: Keagan = 7; Lady May = 2; Prezzo =2, Talia = 2, Kyle = 1, Wati = 1. (Total: 15 Votes) – DStv



The Windhoek Observer is an English-language weekly newspaper, published in Namibia by Paragon Investment Holding. It is the country's oldest and largest circulating weekly.

Contact Us

Windhoek Observer House
c/o John Meinert & Rossini Street
Windhoek West
Tel: +264 61 411 800
Fax: +264 61 226 098